Storytime!

The Fire

Hey! This is a Storytime original post by SkeinWreck owner, Cecily.

To see the first part of the story, click here.

Recap: I was introduced to crochet by woman who was visiting the Quilt Museum, where I volunteered. I was knitting a scarf before she noticed the swiftness of my work, and it ended when we were on the porch of the museum, on a bench, having a conversation, before she had to leave with her husband. A few weeks after the interaction, I found myself at Walmart in the yarn section.

College is a place of growth. We’re constantly exposed to copious amounts of information, And with which, comes extensive access to self-care items.

One of the items available was a box of yarn. Old, scrap yarn. But, in the box was a rainbow yarn. And I loved the way it ombred one color into the next. I found playing with yarn relaxing (considering I was playing with a softer yarn, knitting winter headbands in the process) so I took it home. And, well, I held onto the yarn for some time.

But there I was, shopping. Regular old shopping. No car, so I knitted on the bus ride there, and my needles stuck out of my purse as I strolled around the store.

College budgets don’t leave room for a lot of...fun money.

Little to no fun money. As in, fun money is considered not allowing yourself to starve every so often.

But that week, I had about $10 I was able to splurge on. I was rolling around with my shopping card full of food, more dyer sheets, and a first aid kit, before I strolled over to the crafting section. If you’ve never been in Walmart, like most department stores, they section all of their craft related items to one section. They have fabrics, crayola, yarn, and much more. But, I strolled over to the yarn and admired the collection.

There are so many different yarns, I thought.

Those who are seasoned crocheters, knitters etc know that this is amusing. They have very commercial yarns, not a large selection. But, for a beginner, it’s enough to fascinate and spend some time looking.

I walked over to the yarn, and picked up a few skeins, putting them back, admiring how soft they were; browsing, as I normally do. Just being in the presence of crafts and creative items fuels me.

But then the yarn selection ended, and I saw them. The hooks. All nicely placed together, with variations in sizes, packaging, and brand.

There were packs of Boye hooks, from 3.75mm-6.5mm. Of course, being a beginner, I didn’t know what to do. I didn’t know gauge or how big my hooks should be; but I wanted to try. I remembered that rainbow yarn I had back at the room, and decided to purchase this pack of yarn. From then on, I developed into now, a regular crocheter with an etsy shop. But of course, let’s not fast forward.

It was a very split moment decision.

Once I got home, I tried doing some gauge on my own, not really knowing…really, well, anything. I chose at 4.25mm hook for a worsted weight Red Heart Acrylic yarn, and wanted to make a headband out of it. It’s pictured below, with my first pair of needles.

20161126_091413-1.jpg

Now: Any seasoned crocheter can clearly tell that the rainbow headband’s gague is just a bit too small. You can see it buckle and cruve; as it’s been made with a size too small. And, of course, me not knowing how to properly steam block (which would have helped give it room, stretch it out so it wasn’t stiff) I’ve ironed it. It’s flat, and because the yarn is a cheap acrylic (which is basically platic) it’s melted together. However, the headband pictured to the next of it on the right is properly blocked (I looked up videos afterwards, because although they’re both acrylic, the yarn on the left is a bit nicer and much softer).  And of course, Here I am, presenting two items that I’ve proudly worked up, not knowing where I went wrong.

Being almost 6 months since I’ve started crochet, I’ve included some examples showcasing how far I’ve come in my development as a crocheter.

 

Leave a Reply

